About the MMS

MMS_logoThe Minnesota Mycological Society (MMS) is an educational organization for the study of mushrooms and other fungi. Members work with professional mycologists to improve their mushroom identification skills, build the mycological collection at the University of Minnesota, educate the public about fungi and assist the Hennepin County Poison Center in mushroom identification. The MMS is governed by bylaws that define our structure and purpose.





The Society’s interests include:

  • collecting and identifying wild mushrooms and other fungi
  • cooking with wild mushrooms
  • photographing mushrooms
  • arts and crafts with fungi


Meetings & Forays
Meetings take place monthly during entire year, and twice a month during April, May (when it does not fall on Memorial Day), September and October. Presentations and workshops by invited professionals and members of the MMS are an important part of our educational work.

Forays are held from May to October. Meetings and forays are dedicated to learning and improving mushroom identification skills. A photo contest, a potluck dinner and a holiday celebration are the highlights at the close of the season. During winter, the MMS also hosts an annual awards banquet. The Minnesota Mycological Society is governed by a volunteer board, and depends on engaged members to remain active.

Check our Events page for up-to-date information on all meetings, forays and other activities.


Yahoo Group
Have you joined the MMS Yahoo Group? This is a great way to stay in touch between meetings, arrange car pools for forrays, or to share pictures and ask questions. (Please note that this group is for MMS members only. Visit the Membership page for information on joining the MMS.)


MMS on Facebook
“Like” the MMS on Facebook to stay up to date on last minute announcements and share pictures and stories.


Current MMS officers and board members are:

President John Lamprecht
Vice President Kathy Yerich
Treasurer Claudette Lamprecht
Recording Secretary Howard Goltz
Corresponding Secretary Richard Pizarro
Member at Large Michael Herrick
Member at Large Keith Kleinschmidt
Membership Coordinator John Lamprecht
NAMA Trustee Peggy Laine
MMS Store Keeper Delia Lam
Newsletter Editor Ryan Franke
Webmaster Jane Onorati
Foray Leader Lee Moellerman
Collections & Vouchers Adele Mehta
Past President Barry Beck
General Counsel Dick Thomson
Scientific Advisor Dr. Peter Kennedy
Scientific Advisor Dr. Tom Volk
MycoFlora Project Chair Anna Gerenday
Photo Contest Coordinator Howard Goltz
ID Committee Chair Ron Spinosa
Program Committee Chair Kathy Yerich
Activity and State Fair Chair Michael Otis